Scholarship ceremony celebrates the next generation

Master of Ceremonies Brian Waddington (left) announces the names of the 2015 scholarship recipients during the Scholarship Reception and Donor Appreciation Celebration breakfast on August 13. (Evan Solano/Clarion)


Citrus College Foundation director Christina Garcia thanks alumni and donors during the Scholarship Reception and Donor Appreciation Celebration on Aug. 13. (Evan Solano/Clarion)

The Citrus College Foundation awarded scholarships to 192 recipients made up of incoming, continuing and transferring students at the sixth annual Scholarship Reception and Donor Appreciation Celebration on August 13.

More than 85 donors raised more than $129,000 in scholarship money with approximately $16,000 donated from the Associated Students of Citrus College.

The event was held in the Campus Center where recipients had an opportunity to meet and have breakfast with their scholarship donors.

Geraldine M. Perri, Ph.D., Superintendent President, began the ceremony with a welcome speech highlighting the local, state and national success of Citrus College as well as acknowledging the hard work of students, faculty, staff and donors.

“This is our opportunity to say ‘thank you’ to special individuals who have a big heart and care about our students,” Perri said in regards to the many donors who make these scholarship opportunities a success.

Brian Bowcock, President of the Foundation’s Board of Directors, followed Perri with a request for the students to remember their roots and return to help the students after them to succeed.

“Take what you get here,” Bowcock said. “Mark it on the wall and when it is time to give back, show up. Be apart of the alumni and of this college because it is important.”

Kendall Gagliano, president of Alpha Gamma Sigma (AGS) and recipient of a continuing student scholarship, shared her experiences of growing up with Intracranial Hypertension and how hard work brought her to Citrus College as well as earning the SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union Worthy Student Scholarship.

“Don’t let dreams come to an end because of a roadblock, “ Gagliano said. “Stepping out of your comfort zone is the first step to pursuing a dream.”


“My Citrus Story” presenters Bassam Theodory and Kendall Gagliano (center) alongside Citrus College Board of Trustee members and scholarship donors Dr. Patricia Rasmussen and Sue Keith (left) and Superintendent/President Geraldine M. Perri, Ph.D. (right). (Evan Solano/Clarion)

Bassam Theodory, a Biology major transferring to UC Riverside and recipient of the Michael David Dittemore Memorial Scholarship for Life Sciences, shared his story of immigrating from Syria to America and the language barriers he faced while pursuing his education.

“All of my accomplishments belong to Citrus,” Theodory said as he also encouraged students to move forward. “As long as I made it so can all of you as long as you believe in yourselves.”

Gagliano and Theodory both plan on using their scholarship money to pay for books and supplies.

Brain Waddington, history professor at Citrus and Leader of Ceremonies, and Christina Garcia, Director of the Foundation, reiterated the pride in the students and donors and their hopes of leaving a positive mark on the students for life.

“Let us continue our commitment to completion as we celebrate the next generation of students,” said Waddington as he brought the celebration to a close.

Students can find information on applying for scholarships at the Foundation’s website as well as the Financial Aid website.




Update  8/13/15 at 6:40 p.m.: Scholarship received by Bassam Theodory.



Megan is on her second semester as Managing Editor and Ad Manger for the Clarion as well as a contributor for Logos magazine. She has served three consecutive semesters as the editor-in-chief previously for the Clarion and is now focusing on supporting her staff and leaving a substantial foundation for future student journalists at Citrus College. Megan has received a transfer degree in journalism and is finishing a second transfer degree in communications.